Whole30 Week One

We started the Whole30 yesterday!

doing-the-w30-fb-cover-660x244

The whole family….those of us at home anyway. Of course, the boys, 15 and 3,  will be allowed some extras – like some fruit for snacks and I’ve agreed to let the 15-year-old have gluten-free pancakes on Saturdays… but those are about the only exceptions!

We are going beyond the 30 days as well.  In total, we will be doing 50 days, including the last 13 days that include adding a food item in every three days (one day each of having dairy, grains, wheat and legumes to observe any possible effects that they may have on us).

This week, I had the following menu made up ahead of time:

Monday: 

  •    Breakfast – Scrambled Eggs, Ham, Sweet Potato Hash, Healthy Fat of Choice
  •    Lunch – See Below
  •    Dinner  – Paleo Chocolate Chili, Mashed Cauliflower, Salad w/ dressing

Tuesday:

  •    Breakfast  – Frittata, Sautéed Kale, Healthy Fat of Choice
  •    Lunch – See Below
  •    Dinner –  Chicken & Veggie Slow Cooked Soup, Salad w/ dressing

Wednesday:

  • Breakfast  –  Scrambled Eggs,  Sautéed Kale,  Healthy Fat of Choice
  • Lunch  –  See Below
  • Dinner – Baked Cod w/ghee and herb dressing, Baked Sweet Potatoes, Broccoli, Salad w/dressing

Thursday:

  • Breakfast –  Sausage Hash with Fried Eggs, Healthy Fat of Choice
  • Lunch – See Below
  • Dinner – Tomato Soup, Warm Spinach Salad w/ bacon and mushrooms, berries

Friday:

  • Breakfast – Scrambled Eggs, Pork Sausage, Wilted Baby Spinach, Healthy Fat of Choice
  • Lunch – See Below
  • Dinner  –  Salmon Cakes over Bibb Lettuce & Sliced Tomatoes, Paleo Tartar Sauce, Baked Sweet Potatoes

Saturday:  

  • Breakfast – Frittata, Kale and Sweet Potato Hash, Healthy Fat of Choice
  • Lunch  –   See Below
  • Dinner  –  Vegetable Coconut Stew, Salad w/ dressing

Sunday:

  • Breakfast –  None for most of us….  We fast on Sundays before Liturgy.  I have not been able to do this well yet so I normally have some oatmeal but won’t be doing that during the Whole30.   I found a recipe for a Primal Hot Cereal that is W compliant that I and my toddler will be having on Sunday mornings.
  • Lunch –  Paleo Wraps  (something portable that can be eaten in the car after church)
  • Dinner  – Whole Greek Chicken, Sweet Potatoes, Broccoli & Cauliflower Mix

Lunches will be based on the following choices:

  • Leftovers (always using the need for a protein, vegetables and healthy fat)
  • Greens with tuna or chicken salad made with Paleo mayonnaise with tomatoes and a drizzle (thumb sized portion) of olive oil.
  • Salad with dressing and a serving of lunchmeat rolls (organic, no sugar)
  • Paleo Wrap, small amount of fruit, handful of nuts
  • Whatever other discoveries my son comes up with so long as it’s approved by me first 😉

RECIPE:

I’ll be making some dressings throughout the week which will serve as our healthy fat portion for our dinners.  Some of those use Paleo Mayonnaise as a base.  I finally got up enough nerve just last week to make it.  I used the recipe out of my Well Fed Cookbook by Melissa Joulwan.  It uses an egg, 2 tbsp lemon juice, 1/4 cup plus 1 cup LIGHT tasting olive oil (not evoo), 1/2 tsp dry mustard and 1/2 tsp salt and …..a lot of patience 😉

Actually, it seemed harder reading the recipe than it actually was and I was quite pleased with it.  It worked well in my Vitamix.

Here is what I did, but you can read more details and hints over at Melissa’s blog  –  TheClothesMakeTheGirl.com .

1.  Let the lemon juice and egg sit at room temperature for about a half hour.  (Melissa said to break the egg and put it and the lemon juice in the blender and sit for a half hour but I kind of misread this and what I did worked so I’m sticking to it! LOL) Then put in blender and let sit about 15 more minutes (in case there was something to the sitting together in the blender part rather than just the importance of being at room temperature)

2.  Add the mustard, salt and 1/4 cup of the olive oil into the blender.  Blend on medium (the Vitamix is more powerful than a blender so I didn’t go quite halfway… I kept it around a 4) until combined.

3.  Now is the BE PATIENT part…  Take the remaining 1 cup light olive oil and very very very slowly (the whole process should take 2-3 minutes) drizzle the oil into the blender while keeping on medium (4 on the Vitamix).   If you are using a blender, you’ll hear a pitch change as it begins to emulsify.  I didn’t hear this with the Vitamix, but my hearing isn’t so good so I really don’t know if it was me or the Vitamix.  Either way, the ingredients in the blender WILL  begin to resemble the consistency of traditional mayonnaise.  Just remember to drizzle….slowly!     Enjoy!

 

About orthodoxmom3

I am an Orthodox Christian wife and a mother of three that is loving the life God has given me. I wear many, many hats in this life including Christian, wife, mother, reader, writer, teacher, homeschool advocate, cook and so many more. I love to write about my faith, positive mindset, gratitude, homeschooling and more. See my About Page for more information and follow The Many Hats of an Orthodox Mom @Orthodoxmom3.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Assorted Matters and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Whole30 Week One

  1. Hi! This sounds wonderful and I truly looked into this for ourselves. But, after viewing and noting that I have POTS, postural orthostatic tachacardia (sic x2) syndrome and watching an excellent video regarding my disease, I have to bow out of this. The woman who did the video is a prof at the University of Michigan and also has the same disease as me. What we have done is I am working my way back to a modified vegetarian diet and it is feeling good again. We are not big meat eaters and do prefer game. We enjoy fish also so we will do this for 30 days and I will be the one without the meat. I will also be off Facebook for 6 weeks so that I can devote more time to Our Lord and my meditations and healing from an accident in August. I believe that this “diet or change of living” will be beneficial to one and all. Blessings.

    • orthodoxmom3 says:

      I tend to think that vegetarian diets for treatment is more of a conventional approach and I cant say that I usually agree with such a tactic. I hope that you are at least getting healthy fats. If it seems to be working for you than I am glad of that. There certainly seems to be some people that do well with it if they go about it wisely. Just be careful to get a well-balanced diet of vegetables and healthy fats and don’t rely on soy products and other such imitation ‘meat’ products as so many vegetarians and vegans do. There is a vegetarian version of whole30 – is that what you have referred to in your comment? I applaud people in their efforts to avoid Facebook and such…. I considered that but do not feel that I’m on there as often as I used to be anyway and allow myself the time to do it as long as I have accomplished my Lenten reading goals for the day and written in my gratitude journal! May your Lenten journey be full of blessings Janice and lead you to a wonderful spiritual path to the celebration of the resurrection of our Lord! God Bless you.

  2. Pingback: Lions and Lambs of March | orthodoxmom3

  3. Pingback: Whole30 – Week 6 | orthodoxmom3

Leave a comment