It All Comes Down to Gratitude

It doesn’t seem to matter what struggle I am having.  When seeking a solution, seeking peace of mind, or figuring out how to hand it over, it all comes down to gratitude.

I’ve written much about gratitude.  It’s a continuing theme in my mind and life.  Really it is a continuing theme in everyone’s life.  God wants us to have gratitude.

Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, in everything give thanks for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.

1 Thessalonians 5: 16-18

 

This is the day that the Lord has made; let us greatly rejoice and be glad therein.

Psalm 117(118):24

 

And let the peace of God rule in your hearts, to which also you were called in body; and be thankful.

Colossians 3:15

But it’s not always easy is it?  Especially when there are so many difficulties on the journey.  Yet it is in finding gratitude that our mindset changes.  And once our mindset changes, we have more power to make other things change.

Having gratitude is really about our attitude.  We can have the attitude of seeing the glass half empty and dwell on what’s gone.  Or we can see the glass as half full and focus on what is there and what is good.

I always struggle in the fall.  I guess I still do but that seasonal change doesn’t take hold of me as it used to.  Naturally the effects of my diet help a great deal, and even herbs that I use, but there’s also a mindset shift.  I can change my attitude about it.

I used to look out and see those leaves changing color and rather than seeing the beauty I saw the end of summer and sunshine. I saw the end of flowers and warmth on my skin and chose instead to focus on the grayness of the clouds, the bare arms of the branches as the leaves fell and shivered at the prospect of snow, ice, and darkened days.  I hated the fall.

Now I can see that beauty.  I realized that I can see that glass as half empty- the darkness and cold temperatures of winter coming…. OR I can focus on the leaves that are beautiful and a reminder to me of the colors in God’s creation.  I remind myself that with death comes new life.  Under that ground covered with brown leaves and eventually snow, new life begins.  Plants are still alive and doing what they need to do to resurrect their beauty in the spring.  So while fall and winter are still not my favorite seasons, I have trained myself to be grateful for it by focusing on what’s coming.  So on the dreariest days of fall and winter, I can still look outside and see the wonder.

It doesn’t seem to matter what struggle I am having.  Whether it’s dealing with mild seasonal blues, running out of an ingredient in the middle of a recipe, having a hard time getting things together before homeschool co-op or before leaving for church, the social struggles of ‘Covid-19’, or something more serious, peace of mind is obtainable.   When seeking a solution, seeking peace of mind, or figuring out how to hand it over, it all comes down to gratitude.

Opening our minds to gratitude helps us find moments of blessings and grace. Moments that would otherwise pass us by with only bitter, sad feelings of dejection and anguish.

Browsing through some articles today, I came upon a really neat ‘gratitude exercise’ I hadn’t seen before.  It was on having a ‘gratitude rock’.  The exercise, in brief, was to pick a really pretty rock to keep in your pocket, on your desk, or a prominent place you would often come into contact with it. Whenever you see the rock, or touch it in your pocket or purse, pause to think about at least one thing you are grateful for or brings you joy. I love that idea.  I just may do something like this with my son soon.  And who says it has to be a rock?  Why not a cross or a mini icon?  Or hey, since it’s October, why not a mini pumpkin?  The idea is to make it a point to remember to change your attitude to one of gratitude.

Of course, I still highly recommend keeping a gratitude journal. It can be as simple as a pretty composition book, this simple journal like book, or the lovely book put out by Nicole M Roccas, A Journal of Thanksgiving.  I started Nicole’s book last March.  I love reading the scripture or patristic writings on each page.  It may seem pricy for a ‘gratitude journal’, but the writings are sure to help you refocus your mindset and it lasts for three years of journaling! Honestly, I’m a little behind.  I don’t write in it every day.  But I try to sit down a few times a week and catch up on the days I missed.  It helps me refocus on what’s good, what’s true, and what’s lovely.

What are you struggling with in your life right now?  How can you refocus your mind to gratitude?  Maybe you can’t think of anything about your struggle to be thankful for.  That’s okay.  Start small.  You woke up this morning.  Maybe you have a friend that called.  Did you have a roof over your head?  Coffee or Tea in your mug? A warm blanket?  A bible verse that made you feel God was speaking to you?  Whatever the littlest thing is , write it down.  And tomorrow, write something else down.  One thing at a time, you can change your mindset.  And in changing your mindset, you can change your life.

What are you struggling with in your life right now?  What are you going to write down in your gratitude journal today?

 

 

About orthodoxmom3

I am an Orthodox Christian wife and a mother of three that is loving the life God has given me. I wear many, many hats in this life including Christian, wife, mother, reader, writer, teacher, homeschool advocate, cook and so many more. I love to write about my faith, positive mindset, gratitude, homeschooling and more. See my About Page for more information and follow The Many Hats of an Orthodox Mom @Orthodoxmom3.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in faith, Healthy Mindset and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment