Stop and Take a Breath

I’m challenging myself at this moment.  It’s been one of those days. I need to stop and take a breath.

I guess you could call today  a ‘catch up day’.  That’s what I call trying to catch up from whatever kept me off track of my usual ‘to do’ lists for a couple days.  This time it was being away from the house for an overnight trip.  That was following our family dinner day. We celebrated a little early since not all of us could be here for Thanksgiving.

I was almost going to skip by the segment on my Monday to do list that says “Start This Week’s blog post”.  I had no idea what I was even going to blog about this week.  Maybe it should just be skipped. But I decided to stop – for just a few minutes – and take a breath.  Stopping a moment to  devote a little time to something that makes me smile and feel like I’m a little more than a wife and mom.  Not that there’s anything wrong with that; it’s just something that makes me feel like, well a bit more of a complete picture of who I am.

Stopping  and taking a breath is really one of those ESSENTIAL needs for our health.  It helps with our mindset which most definitely affects our overall health. It’s important to take a moment each day, catch your breath and care for your mindset. Stopping for a moment can be short- taking two minutes to step outdoors and do a little deep breathing, stepping in front of the icon corner to say a prayer, taking ten minutes to read a bit, or just pouring yourself a nice cup of tea and drinking it while it’s still warm!

Sometimes it needs to be longer.  Instead of two or ten minutes, maybe thirty minutes or an hour.  Even a whole day if possible.  But I know- that’s not always possible.

So today’s post is short- because it is one of those ‘catch up days’.  But it’s also important.  Because sometimes we need to stop and take a breath.

Need more ideas on what to do for ‘break time’?  Check this out!

What did you do today in your moment to take a breath? 

About orthodoxmom3

I am an Orthodox Christian wife and a mother of three that is loving the life God has given me. I wear many, many hats in this life including Christian, wife, mother, reader, writer, teacher, homeschool advocate, cook and so many more. I love to write about my faith, positive mindset, gratitude, homeschooling and more. See my About Page for more information and follow The Many Hats of an Orthodox Mom @Orthodoxmom3.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Assorted Matters, Healthy Mindset and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment